Manuel Castro, UNED researcher and eMadrid member, receives the Nikola Tesla Chain

Manuel Castro, full professor at UNED (National Distance Education University) and member of the research team of eMadrid project, has received the Nikola Tesla Chain, the highest award of the International Society for Engineering Pedagogy (IGIP ), a prize that recognizes professor Castro's international achievements in both fields. The award was presented at the International Conference on Interactive Collaborative Learning (ICL), that took place in Budapest (Hungary) last september.

This award recognizes the researcher's work in the field of Engineering and Pedagogy. It emphasizes his well regarded career in Engineering Education societies, as the IGIP and the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers), where he has reached the highest degree as a fellow member, and has also become the first non-US president of the IEEE Education Society. Professor Castro will lead too the VI Division of this institution, in next period, 2019-2020.

Dedicated to the activity and promotion of pedagogy and education within the different branches of Engineering, IGIP has created a unique certificate that recognizes worldwide this formal training, the «International Engineering Educator», available today for students in english, spanish, portuguese, russian and german, among other languages.

The Nikola Tesla Chain represents «the highest recognition for a researcher, in the area of Engineering Technology, it's a guarantee of his dedication and his knowledge, and also gives value to other activities such as the organization of conventions or the publication of articles», answers the researcher.

Nikola Tesla (1856-1943) was a serbian inventor, electrical and mechanical engineer, physicist and futurist mind, best known for his contributions to the design of the modern alternating current (AC) electricity supply system, developed in the late nineteenth and early twentieth centuries. A controversial figure with a permanent conflict with other great scientists, his contributions are considered crucial for the invention of the radio, the electric current, the wireless technology and the rotating magnetic field. He was part of the former AIEE (American Institute of Electronic Engineers), today IEEE, institution that gives this important award since 1975.


Share this post

Submit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedIn